county news online

the bistro off broadway
Darrell and Debbie Biddlestone award their second annual Fred Wright Memorial Scholarship to members of the Senior Scribes and the SSSF Committee. Pictured, left to right: Delbert Blickenstaff, Elaine Bailey, Debbie Biddlestone, Darrell Biddlestone, Al Greiner, Phyllis Mong, Kathleen Floyd and Bob Robinson. Front: George Starks.
  Biddlestones present second annual Fred Wright Memorial Scholarship donation

Senior Scribes Scholarship Fund...

Local business owners Darrel and Debbie Biddlestone presented their second annual Fred Wright Memorial Scholarship check to the Senior Scribes Scholarship Fund Friday at Darke County Parks’ Shawnee Prairie. The donation, specifically noted as a Memorial Scholarship in honor of the late Ralph “Fred” Wright, who passed away in 2006, will go to a Darke County teen entering (or continuing in) a communications related field at a college of his or her choice.

The 2011 Memorial award went to Margaret Prakel, Versailles High School graduate, who enrolled at Notre Dame as a Communications major.

“I was really pleased at your choice for the Memorial scholarship last year,” Darrell said. “It was quite an honor helping a student who was going to Notre Dame.”

Biddlestone said Fred Wright was a 25-year employee of Dayton Power & Light who always took the time to lay out exactly what was needed to happen and where to get the permits to get their businesses off the ground.

“He did so many things to support this community,” Biddlestone said. “He was a mentor – not just to me – but to many businesses just getting started.”

In establishing the scholarship fund last year, Biddlestone said that he wanted to honor Wright and noted that it was his turn to “give back” to the community that had been so good to him. The Biddlestones intend to continue their tradition of donating to SSSF in Wright’s name to help students meet their college expenses.

Darrell and Debbie own Biddlestone Enterprises, which includes Biddlestone Consignments in Greenville, Biddlestone Expediting (a trucking company) and a number of rental properties.

This year’s check was presented to Senior Scribe George Starks, County News Online’s sports editor. Starks began volunteering for County News Online in August and has been responsible for building a strong CNO sports presence in Darke County.

The Senior Scribes Scholarship Fund is a 501(c)3 arm of the Darke County Senior Scribes. Its purpose is to provide scholarship assistance to Darke County high school graduates seeking a career in a communications field. Fund Directors are: Al Bliss, President; Lyn Bliss, Secretary; Al Greiner, Treasurer; and Directors Marianne Clark, Delbert Blickenstaff, Phyllis Mong, Elaine Bailey and Bob Robinson.

Businesses and individuals interested in helping County News Online and the SSSF continue to provide scholarships to help local teens with their education goals can contact CNO at A variety of options are available, from Sponsor displays to annual donations and estate endowments.

In addition to Prakel, 2011 scholarship recipients were Jessica Barga, Versailles High School graduate attending Miami University, Kent Holmes and Simon Hoying, Greenville High School graduates attending Ball State University and Kayla Lamar, home school graduate attending Edison Community College.

This year’s scholarship recipients will be recognized at an SSSF Scholarship Awards banquet, date to be announced.

site search by freefind

click here to sign up for daily news updates
senior scribes
senior scribes

County News Online

is a Fundraiser for the Senior Scribes Scholarship Committee. All net profits go into a fund for Darke County Senior Scholarships
Copyright 2011 and design by