the bistro off broadway

Back Row (L to R): Tony Human, Dean of Professional and Technical Programs, Paul Heintz, Dean of
Arts and Sciences, Chris Spradlin, Provost, Tyler Fickert, Julia Mellott, Phillip Green, Beka Lindeman,
Assistant Professor and PTK Advisor, William Loudermilk, Associate Professor and PTK Advisor;
Front Row (L to R): Sarah Hubbard, Audrey McWhorter, Christy Hughes, Erica Hicks,
and Dr. Doreen Larson, Edison State President.

Edison State Students Inducted to PTK Honor Society

Fourteen new members were inducted to the Edison State Community College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) during a ceremony on Wednesday, November 8 at the Piqua campus. Each semester, students are invited to join the honor society based upon academic criteria. 

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was established in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. 

New inductees include: Brock Barga, Alexis Bylczynski, Michael Dilworth, Tyler Fickert, Phillip Green, Erica Hicks, Miraya Hinten, Sarah Hubbard, Christy Hughes, Isatou Kassama, Audrey McWhorter, Julia Mellott, Kayley Ruschau, Jessica Stayton, and Brandon Ward.

During the ceremony, Associate Provost Mona Walters recognized the candidates for their academic achievements.

“The Phi Theta Kappa Key is your privilege to the future of success,” Walters said to the inductees. “Be proud of your accomplishments and all that you have earned so that you can emerge as a confident leader.”

“It is always exciting to induct a new group into PTK,” said Beka Lindeman, Assistant Professor and PTK Advisor. “We get to welcome some of our best students into our honor society and meet the family and friends who have supported them along way. It is a proud moment to see what our students have accomplished.”

 “Membership provides active students with outstanding leadership training, service opportunities, and the eligibility to apply for hundreds of thousands of dollars in continuing and transfer scholarships,” added William Loudermilk, Associate Professor and PTK Advisor.

Each semester, the Student Leadership Committee selects a member of the Edison State faculty or staff to honor during the ceremony. This semester, Karen Baker Academic Project Specialist for Arts and Sciences was commended for providing outstanding service to the students of Edison State. 

Recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters. 

For more information about the Edison State chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, email

senior scribes

County News Online

is a Fundraiser for the Senior Scribes Scholarship Committee. All net profits go into a fund for Darke County Senior Scholarships
Copyright 2011 and design by